Official: Sony Confirm DC Universe Discs Locked To Single Account Forever 
  TweetTweet

Nick de Bruyne
February 11, 2011 at 9:00 am

DCUOsupes.jpg

This week, we posted up a warning about how we discovered that DC Universe becomes linked to your account when you activate it, destroying your ability to sell it, trade it or rent it.

Once the article had made its way around the earth once or twice, we started receiving reports that we were noobs and got it wrong, and that it’s only free one month trial that links to your account.

So naturally, we phoned Batman. He didn’t answer, so we shot an e-mail off to Sony Online Entertainment instead.

I’m happy to report that the folks at SOE were very quick to respond to our enquiry, and they had the following to say:

“Once the PSN key has been consumed with a disk it cannot be resold/replayed with the second user adding a sub – only the original consumer can use that acct.”

We weren’t too sure if that meant that a new code could be obtained by a second hand buyer, or if the disc and account were seen as one, so we wrote back and got the simple and straightforward answer that:

“Disk and account are one”

So there you have it, confirmed from SOE themselves. Once you have bought DC Universe Online, it will not be usable by anyone other than the original user of the activation key. So once again, be warned: If you see the game for sale second hand without its original activation key (highly unlikely) or want to sell it off, it doesn’t work that way.

Bad move from SOE? Ummm… yes.